posted on September 11, 2017 by Gina Danna

We Want No Stinkin’ War!

By Gina Danna

The American Civil War – why would I write a story during this timeframe? All stories written about this time are all just Gone With The Wind in a different style….

The War Between the States – the ‘official’ name for the Civil War of 1861-1865 – is a fascinating and complex era, a focal point in time in the history of this country. A country that now has factions working diligently to destroy any fragments of this period. Can we erase history? Or maybe, we should study it further, for it was a battle born the moment this country started…

Unconditional Surrender is Book #2 of the Hearts Touched by Fire series, seen through the eyes of the Silvers and/or Fontaine families. The Wicked North, Book 1, takes Jack Fontaine and us from West Point in the late 1850s to the beginning of the Civil War, and the budding  romance with Emma Silvers. This book ends in spring, 1863 with them at Jack’s family’s plantation in Louisiana with the siege of Vicksburg looming in the background.

Book 2 takes up where the other stopped, but this time, the focal point is Emma’s brother, Charles, who is a Confederate officer, and Sarah, who is a former lover of Jack’s, a Southern belle ripped from the South by bushwhackers killing her father and burning her home. She escaped to the North, in St. Louis, where she healed under the care of Julia Dent Grant, the wife of Ulysses S. Grant. Her desire to avenge her father’s death drives her to convince General Grant to allow her to spy for the North during the war. An unlikely scenario but one that is based on facts. Women did spy for both sides and were remarkable well suited for the position, in a period where men ruled and considered women to fragile for rough world of politics and war. Some of these spies are well know – Rose O’Neal Greenhouse and Belle Boyd for the Confederacy, Elizabeth Lew and Harriet Tubman for the North. But many remained in the shadows, working for their sides.

Book 3 will continue the tale under Jack’s sister, Cerisa, and a Northern officer, Pierce Duval. Their story will take place during the battle of Chickamauga in 1863. And book 4 will be about Jack’s brother, Francois. Under each of these books, the war will be revealed and people’s hearts on display as their relationships mirror the war, in flames and bloodshed with triumphs looming, if they’d give love a chance. The dynamic of the war that helped shape this country, and showed to the world that democracy and a government based on a republic could withstand the test, coming out stronger and more forceful in the end. A wealth of romance woven in times of trial – my muse is happy to play with.

To those who lived during that time, to the men (& women) who fought, I salute you!


Hearts Touched By Fire Book 2

Confederate Major Charles Silvers has had enough war. In 1862, after two years of fighting, his view of a glorious victory is losing luster and replaced by a burning desire to return home. A home and a family that no longer exists. Assigned to headquarters in Vicksburg Mississippi, only his duty to his fellow soldiers drives him.

Tortured by memories of the night in 1860 when masked guerilla raiders torched her home and killed her father, Sarah Lawrence escaped the South but returns to seek revenge under the cloak of being one of the best spies the Union Army has.

When Charles meets Sarah, he is convinced she could fill the void in his life the war has created, totally unaware that this Southern lady isn’t what she appears to be. For Sarah, Charles is a tool to obtain the information she needs — even at the cost of her heart.



Hearts Touched By Fire Book 1

Bound by duty and honor to wear the Union blue, a Southern-born West Point officer fights his own desires and the need to protect the woman he abandoned, he disobeys his orders to find her, as the Army of the Potomac marches toward her family’s home near Richmond.

She has the guts and willpower to protect her home from the hated Yankee aggressors, but when that traitor to the South appears at her door, she’s torn between wanting to shoot him and to be held in his arms again. Can she forgive him for their past indiscretion or does she turn him in to be executed, a traitor to both sides?

In the summer of 1862, her family’s plantation becomes the personal battle ground between them as deceit, betrayal and passion ignite the flames of love and hate that burn brighter than the roar of the guns and rivers of blood surrounding them.

(ebook on sale for limited time at 99 cents!)


Gina Danna

Gina Danna

A USA Today Bestselling author, Gina Danna was born in St. Louis, Missouri, and has spent the better part of her life reading. History has always been her love and she spent numerous hours devouring historical romance stories, always dreaming of writing one of her own. After years of writing historical academic papers to achieve her undergraduate and graduate degrees in History, and then for museum programs and exhibits, she found the time to write her own historical romantic fiction novels. Now, under the Texas sun and with the supervision of her three dogs, she writes amid a library of research books, with her only true break away is to spend time with her other life long dream --- her Arabian horse --- with him, her muse can play.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Latest from our Blog

Tips and tricks for the Stressed-out Author

Usually I am a slow writer, but circumstances forced me to write my new release, Heart’s Desire, at the fastest pace I’ve ever written. In order to finish on time, I had to push myself to my limit—and I’m sure many of you can relate. Anyone pursuing a career as an author knows for every… Read More

Read More