Trap Lane

Alex Duggins Mystery Book 6

by Stella Cameron

Joffe Books

Mystery

August 3, 2020

ISBN-10: 1780291175

ISBN-13: 9781780291178

Available in: Hardcover, e-Book, Trade Size (reprint)

Trap Lane
by Stella Cameron

Looking for a gripping murder mystery with a feisty female sleuth? Meet Alex Duggins in this new series from a bestselling author.

SOME PASTS ARE MORE DEADLY THAN OTHERS . . .

Pub owner and village sleuth Alex Duggins has always trusted Hugh Rhys completely. He’s been her ever-reliable bar manager for ages. She doesn’t know much about him, but there’s no one she trusts more behind her bar and the villagers know they can count on him. Until two women from his past turn up unexpectedly and Hugh can barely contain his fury.

His reaction shocks the village and leaves Alex wondering if she ever knew Hugh at all.

A MURDER SCENE WITHOUT A BODY

A terrible scene is discovered in Hugh’s house. Blood and shattered glass everywhere — and Hugh won’t explain why. Then a battered body is found in a deep pond near his home. Alex and her boyfriend, Tony, are once again pulled into a chilling murder investigation.

Hugh immediately becomes the prime suspect. And Alex is determined to prove his innocence.

But is she hunting for a killer she doesn’t want to find?

Perfect for fans of Faith Martin, Agatha Christie, J.R. Ellis and Clare Chase.

Stella Cameron is a New York Times and USA Today bestselling author with over fourteen million copies of her books in print.

MEET ALEX AND TONY
People think Alex is the perfect girl-next-door, but she’s made of sterner stuff than most girls-next-door. Divorced pub owner and graphic artist, she meets challenges head on, especially when she decides to stand up for justice and the underdog. Alex is no stranger to trouble, never has been since she was a scrappy young girl with no dad and a mum working around the clock to keep them together.

Alex’s friend Tony Harrison is a vet — to the disappointment of his GP dad. A quiet man with a sharp wit and strong belief in the goodness of others, he has taken hard knocks, not the least of these, the loss of a young wife who disappeared, never to be found.

THE VILLAGE
A view of Folly from The Hill — as locals call it — is cause for a smile in any season. Let’s try December, early on a cold morning. Snow covers frozen twigs that crackle beneath your feet. The snowfall is only a fine swirl now. On a high point to the west stands ruined Tinley Tower, the folly the village was named for. Below, across the green with its frozen duck pond, honey-yellow cottages huddle. Thin smoke straggles from chimneys and lights shine through small leaded windows. Villagers wake early here. The Black Dog, Alex Duggins’ pub, sits at the heart of it all, strands of coloured lights shining along its eaves. George’s bakery van is already on its rounds, as is the Lovell’s Dairy lorry. It’s too early for the scarlet-blazered children to be climbing on the school bus, but dog walkers are already marching through the narrow streets and across the green. Idyllic. Deceptively so?

Originally published October 2019 in hardcover and eBook and reissued May 2020 in trade paperback by Severn House.



Stella Cameron's Bio

Stella Cameron is a New York Times and USA Today Bestselling Author with over fourteen million copies of her books in print. Cameron continues to add to her critically acclaimed Alex Duggins Mystery series with book 5, WHISPER THE DEAD (April 2018). She draws on her English background to create an atmosphere and characters that readers will long to know better. Cameron is the recipient of the Pacific Northwest Achievement Award for distinguished professional achievement and for enhancing the stature of the Northwest Literary community. She lives in Washington with her husband Jerry, her sweet elderly Papillon Millie, one-eyed and beautiful orange tabby, Jack and Gorgeous George the frequently bad, latest feline addition to the household. From his lissome length, we are unsure if George is a cat rather than a ferret.