A Turn for the Bad

A County Cork Mystery #4

by Sheila Connolly

Berkley Prime Crime

Mystery, Mystery: Cozy

February 2, 2016

ISBN-10: 0425273423

ISBN-13: 9780425273425

Available in: Paperback

A Turn for the Bad
by Sheila Connolly

The New York Times bestselling author of An
Early Wake
returns to Ireland where Sullivan’s Pub
owner Maura Donovan gets mixed up with smugglers.

After calling Ireland home for six months, Boston expat
Maura Donovan still has a lot to learn about Irish
ways—and Sullivan’s Pub is her classroom. Maura
didn’t only inherit a business, she inherited a
tight-knit community. And when a tragedy strikes, it’s
the talk of the pub. A local farmer, out for a stroll on the
beach with his young son, has mysteriously disappeared. Did
he drown? Kill himself? The child can say only that he saw a

Everyone from the local gardai to the Coast Guard is
scouring the Cork coast, but when a body is finally brought
ashore, it’s the wrong man. An accidental drowning or
something more sinister? Trusting the words of the boy and
listening to the suspicions of her employee Mick that the
missing farmer might have run afoul of smugglers, Maura
decides to investigate the deserted coves and isolated
inlets for herself. But this time she may be getting in over
her head…

Sheila Connolly's Bio

After collecting too many degrees and exploring careers ranging from art historian to investment banker to professional genealogist, Sheila Connolly began writing in 2001, and has now published over thirty traditional mysteries, including several New York Times bestsellers. Her series include the Orchard Mysteries (Berkley Prime Crime), the Museum Mysteries (Berkley Prime Crime), The County Cork Mysteries (Crooked Lane Books), the Relatively Dead Mysteries (Beyond the Page Press), and beginning in 2018, The Victorian Village Mysteries from St. Martin’s Press. Her first full-length, standalone eBook, Once She Knew, was published in October 2012. Connolly has also published a variety of short stories: "Size Matters" appeared in the 2010 Level Best Anthology, Thin Ice; "Called Home," a short prequel to the Orchard series, was published by Beyond the Page in 2011; and "Dead Letters," an e-story featuring the main characters from the Museum series, will be published by Berkley Prime Crime in February 2012. Beyond the Page also published "The Rising of the Moon," and another Level Best anthology includes "Kept in the Dark," which was nominated for both an Agatha award and an Anthony award for 2013. She is passionate about genealogy, both American and Irish, and is a member of the Daughters of the American Revolution and the Society of Mayflower Descendants. She is also an Irish citizen and owns a cottage in West Cork. She lives in a too-big Victorian in southeastern Massachusetts with her husband and three cats.