Silent In The Grave

Lady Julia Grey Novel Book 1

by Deanna Raybourn

MIRA Books

August 17, 2015

ISBN-10: 0778328171

ISBN-13: 9780778328179

Available in: Audio, e-Book, Trade Size (reprint)

Read an Excerpt

Silent In The Grave
by Deanna Raybourn

Return to the beginning of Deanna Raybourn’s adored Lady Julia Grey’s series, and be carried off by adventure…

“Let the wicked be ashamed, and let them be silent in the grave.”

These ominous words are the last threat that the darling of London society, Sir Edward Grey, receives from his killer. Before he can show them to Nicholas Brisbane, the private inquiry agent he has retained for his protection, Sir Edward collapses and dies at his London home, in the presence of his wife, Julia, and a roomful of dinner guests.

Julia is outraged when Brisbane visits and suggests that Sir Edward has been murdered. It is a reaction she comes to regret when she discovers the damning paper for herself, and realizes the truth. Determined to bring her husband’s murderer to justice, Julia engages the enigmatic Brisbane to help her investigate Edward’s demise, following a trail of clues that lead her to even more unpleasant truths, and ever closer to a killer who waits expectantly for her arrival.

Originally published December 2006 in hardcover, December 2007 in mass market paperback and January 2010 in trade paperback.

Deanna Raybourn's Bio

A sixth-generation native Texan, New York Times bestselling author Deanna Raybourn graduated from the University of Texas at San Antonio with a double major in English and history and an emphasis on Shakespearean studies. She taught high school English for three years in San Antonio before leaving education to pursue a career as a novelist. Deanna makes her home in Virginia, where she lives with her husband and daughter and is hard at work on her next novel.