Summer of the Redeemers

The Jexville Chronicles Book 1

by Carolyn Haines

Good Fortune Farm Refuge

Literature and Fiction: Women's Fiction, Mystery: Suspense

July 18, 2022

ISBN-10: 1733016953

Available in: Hardcover, Audio, e-Book, Trade Size

Summer of the Redeemers
by Carolyn Haines

In the summer of 1963, KaliOka Road is Bekka Rich's world. Trusted by her parents, she has the freedom to roam and explore in the safety of rural Mississippi---as long as she remains on the red dirt road. Kali Oka dead-ends at an abandoned church and crosses the notorious Cry Baby Creek, where locals say a young infant, deliberately drowned, can be heard crying for mercy late at night. As the summer rolls out, three events change Bekka forever. Nadine, with her stable of show horses, moves onto the road. Then, a reclusive religious group---the Redeemers---rumored to practice strange rituals, takes over the old church. Shortly after that, her best friend's infant sister Maebelle goes missing. Horse crazy Bekka falls under the sway of Nadine, but it is the desperate need to find Maebelle that motivates her to take dangerous actions. No one on KaliOka Road is who or what they seem. Bekka must face the truth of a grownup world and learn that trust and judgment come at a cost.

100% of proceeds from the sale of this book will be donated to the Good Fortune Farm Refuge, a nonprofit 501 (c)(3) animal rescue organization dedicated to placing rescued animals in permanent homes.
(first published by Dutton in 1994)

Show all >

Carolyn Haines' Bio

USA Today bestselling author Carolyn Haines grew up with both parents working as journalists, and she was bitten by the writing bug at a very young age. Her three ambitions were to be a cowgirl, a mystery-solving sleuth like Nancy Drew, and a writer. Today, she has basically accomplished them all. She is the author of the acclaimed Bones mystery series and in addition, she works as an advocate for humane treatment for animals and operates a small rescue on her farm (7 horses, 9 cats and 6 dogs).

Haines claims to have had “the last golden childhood of the South.” She grew up in Lucedale, Mississippi, a town of 3,000 in the Southeastern Pine Barrens. She rode her bicycle all over the county with her wonderful dog Venus and employed her imagination to create adventures with her friends.

Her first job in journalism was at the local weekly, The George County Times, when she was in high school. She went on to work as a photojournalist at the Hattiesburg American while attending the University of Southern Mississippi to earn a B.S. in journalism.

She worked for nearly a decade in the news business, covering local politics, the state legislatures in Alabama and Mississippi, spot news, writing a personal column and her favorite—writing features and using photography to illustrate the story. With her mother, she ran a statewide bureau in Mississippi for the Mobile Register and the Mississippi Press. As part of her journalistic adventures, Haines covered an armed robbery on horseback, hopped a freight train, and rescued a young, injured bald eagle from certain death. She was the first female reporter hired on the news side of the Huntsville Times.

At the same time, she began writing short fiction for personal satisfaction. Under the sway of Eudora Welty, Flannery O’Connor, Doris Betts, and Lee Smith, Haines wrote about the landscape and the people she knew. The end result was being accepted by an agent who urged her to “write a novel.”

Another huge influence was Harper Lee and TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD. Haines’s first novel was SUMMER OF THE REDEEMERS, a coming of age story set in 1963 rural Mississippi and published in 1994. Haines was honored in 2010 with the Harper Lee Award for Distinguished Writing.

In 2009, Haines was named the recipient of the Richard Wright Award for Literary Excellence.

From general fiction, Haines drifted into mysteries, and THEM BONES, a humorous mystery with a wise-cracking ghost, was bought at auction. The stories center around Sarah Booth Delaney and her friends. The fourteenth book in the series, BOOTY BONES, was published May 20, 2014, by St. Martin’s Minotaur.

While writing the lighter mysteries, Haines has continued to write in the darker terrain of the crime novel. PENUMBRA and FEVER MOON (both St. Martin’s Minotaur) are historical crime novels.

In May 2010, an anthology she edited, DELTA BLUES, was released to critical acclaim.

Along with writing, Haines is the fiction coordinator at the University of South Alabama where she teaches graduate and undergraduate fiction writing. And she is president of Good Fortune Farm Refuge, an organization dedicated to helping animals and to educating the public on the need to spay and neuter.

She lives on a farm with her “critters.” They are the terror of the neighborhood.