posted on September 12, 2019 by Tess Thompson

20 Novels and Autumn News

As warm summer days turn to crisp autumn ones and the kids return to school, I always feel a sense of new beginnings. Even more so than the beginning of January, this time of year seems ripe with possibility. Perhaps it’s because I always loved school. Returning to the classroom and friends was my happy place. Wearing a new pair of Hush Puppies and that first day of school outfit, I skipped off to the bus stop, sure this would be the best year yet.

These days my happy place is writing in my quiet office, still learning and growing, despite my five decades here on earth. Two Septembers ago I set a goal to write a new series set in a little beach town. I created a world in which we follow five best guy friends, the Dogs, as they become better men through their friendships, community and the love of a good woman. The books are fine to be read as standalones, but that wasn’t really my vision. They’re meant to be read like one might watch a limited series on television. Each story leads to the next. These men are so integral to one another’s lives that it’s impossible to tell one story without the others.

At first, I imagined only five books in the Cliffside Bay Series. However, after writing and publishing the first five in 2018, I decided we needed five more. In February 2019, the first of the Wolves stories released, which is book 6 in the series. I’m about to release book 8 with the last two planned to release before the end of the year. These are new love stories, but each of the characters in connected to one or more of the Dogs. Thus, we keep in touch with all our old friends.

This autumn I’m also celebrating a milestone. Scarred: Trey and Autumn is my 20th novel and releases September 16th. I can hardly believe I’ve written this many. When I first started out, I just wanted to finish one novel before I turned 40. 10 years later, I have a catalog of 20, with 4 novellas to add to the mix. God has truly blessed me.

For those of you who are new to my Cliffside Bay Series, here they are in order:

The Dogs
Traded: Brody and Kara
Deleted: Jackson and Maggie
Jaded: Zane and Honor
Marred: Kyle and Violet
Tainted: Lance and Mary

The Wolves
Missed: Rafael and Lisa
Healed: Stone and Pepper
Scarred: Trey and Autumn
Jilted: Nico and Sophie
Departed: David and Sara

A little about Scarred

Calling all Cliffside Bay fans!

Scarred: Trey & Autumn by USA Today bestselling author Tess Thompson arrives September 16th.

For Autumn Hickman, online dating has been an exercise in nothing more than coffee and failure. There simply isn’t a man on the planet who can compare to her best friend, Trey Wattson. And while Trey is everything Autumn has ever wanted in a partner, she knows the man who loves life’s most beautiful things could never cherish anything as scarred and mangled as her.

Trey Wattson is in love with his best friend, but he can’t seem to reach her. She’s guarded, and for good reason, but Trey doesn’t care. He knows Autumn’s soul, and it’s the most beautiful thing he’s ever seen. Desperate to claim Autumn’s heart for his own, Trey conspires with The Wolves to create a fake profile on the dating site Autumn frequents. But the more Autumn trusts Trey’s online persona, the more it becomes clear that Trey is gambling with the very thing he wants most of all.

Return to Tess Thompson’s beloved Cliffside Bay and discover for yourself why true love is built on honesty and trust, and why best friends often make the very best life partners, in this anonymous online romance set in your favorite charming small town.


Tess Thompson

Tess Thompson

Tess Thompson Romance…hometowns and heartstrings. Warning. Tess Thompson books will make you laugh, cry and remind you what it’s like to fall in love. Don’t purchase unless you like books about good people with ridiculously happy endings. Tess writes epic love stories with relatable characters set in small towns. Some of her books have suspense, others a mystery, and a few are set in the past. Like a reader said recently, “Tess Thompson books give you more than just a romance.” She started her writing career in fourth grade when she wrote a story about an orphan who opened a pizza restaurant. Oddly enough, her first novel, “Riversong” is about an adult orphan who opens a restaurant. Clearly, she’s obsessed with food and words. Like the characters in her USA Today Bestseller River Valley Series, she hails from a little town in southern Oregon. Despite the fact she’s lived in Seattle for almost thirty years, she will always feel like a small town girl. She’s risen up the charts on all the major eBook retailers starting in 2012 when her debut novel Riversong was a Nook and Amazon bestseller. Since then, she’s released almost 20 novels and novellas. She loves music and dancing, books and bubble baths, cooking and wine, movies and snuggling. She cries at sappy commercials and thinks kissing in the rain should be done whenever possible. Although she tries to act like a lady, there may or may not have been a few times in the last several years when she’s gotten slightly carried away watching the Seattle Seahawks play, but that could also just be a nasty rumor. She currently lives in a suburb of Seattle, Washington with her husband, the hero of her own love story, and their Brady Bunch clan of two sons, two daughters and five cats. Yes, that’s four kids and five cats. Pray for her. Tess loves to hear from you. Drop her a line at

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Latest from our Blog

Being Creative in Dark Times

We live in dark times. Every time we turn on the news or get on social media, we are bombarded by some other horrendous news story or tragedy. While I was writing Echoes from the Veil, I struggled to find time and space to breathe. My mind became so cluttered with current events, that some… Read More

Read More