posted on April 3, 2014 by M. J. Rose

THE COLLECTOR OF DYING BREATHS

THE COLLECTOR OF DYING BREATHS
A Novel of Suspense
by M.J. ROSE

thecollectorofdyingbreaths“Mysterious, magical, and mythical, this book is as heady as the fragrances, potions and elixirs that saturate the pages…Twists and turns abound…It had me guessing until the very end. What a joy to read!”

—Sara Gruen, New York Times bestselling author of Water for Elephants

“History, mystery, ambition, lust, love, death and the timeless quest for immortality—a riveting tale of suspense.”

—B. A. Shapiro, New York Times bestselling author of The Art Forger

 “Rose is an unusually skillful storyteller. Her polished prose and intricate plot will grip even the most skeptical reader. “

                                            —The Washington Post

Each of M.J. Rose’s bestselling novels revolves around an enthralling secret.  A secret trapped in time.  A secret people would kill for. Her reincarnation novels, which include The Book of Lost Fragrances (Atria 2012) and Seduction (Atria 2013), are a heady combination of historical fiction, paranormal intrigue, and ancient cultures encased in page-turning time-slip novels of suspense. Both were named Indie Next Picks, garnered starred trade reviews, and received high praise from the likes of People, The New York Times, and USA Today.  Rose won the 2013 “Crimson Scribe” award for Seduction, which Suspense magazine presents yearly to one author to honor the best book of the year.

The Book of Lost Fragrances had Cleopatra. Seduction had iconic novelist Victor Hugo. Now, with THE COLLECTOR OF DYING BREATHS (Atria Books; $25.00; April 8, 2014), Rose showcases her most fascinating character yet: Catherine de Medici, who infamously spearheaded the St. Bartholomew’s Day Massacre during her son Henry III’s reign, slaughtering thousands of French rebel Protestants in one fell swoop.

In 1533, an Italian orphan with an uncanny knack for creating fragrance is plucked from poverty to become Catherine de Medici’s perfumer. To repay his debt, over the years René le Florentine is occasionally called upon for a darker purpose: the creation of deadly poisons used to dispatch the Queen’s rivals. But it’s René’s other passion—a desire to reanimate a human breath, to bring back the lives of the two people whose deaths have devastated him—that incites a dangerous treasure hunt five centuries later.

That’s when Jac L’Etoile—suffering in modern day France from a heartache of her own—becomes obsessed with the possibility of unlocking René’s secret to immortality. Soon Jac’s search reconnects her with Griffin North, a man she’s loved her entire life. Together they confront an eccentric heiress whose art collection rivals many museums and who is determined to keep her treasures close at hand, in both this life and the next.

Set alternately in the sixteenth century and modern day France, THE COLLECTOR OF DYING BREATHS is a transporting gothic novel—perfect for readers of Anne Rice, Deborah Harkness, and Diana Gabaldon— about finding the courage to confront fate’s fickle whims and is a powerful reminder that our souls live on in those we leave behind.  

mjrose.com

THE COLLECTOR OF DYING BREATHS: A Novel of Suspense
By M.J. Rose
Atria Books; April 8, 2014
$25.00 (US)/ $28.99 (Can.); 384 pages
ISBN: 978-1-4516-2153-2
eBook: 978-1-4516-2155-6

M. J. Rose

M. J. Rose

M.J. Rose grew up in New York City mostly in the labyrinthine galleries of the Metropolitan Museum, the dark tunnels and lush gardens of Central Park and reading her mother’s favorite books before she was allowed. She believes mystery and magic are all around us but we are too often too busy to notice... Books that exaggerate mystery and magic draw attention to it and remind us to look for it and revel in it.

She lives in Connecticut with Doug Scofield, a composer, and their very spoiled dog, Winka.

Rose is a the Co-President and founding member of International Thriller Writers and the founder of the first marketing company for authors: AuthorBuzz. She runs the blog, Museum of Mysteries.

In 1998, her first novel Lip Service was the first eBook and the first self-published novel chosen by the LiteraryGuild/Doubleday Book Club as well as the first eBook to go on to be published by a mainstream New York publishing house.

Rose has been profiled in Time magazine, Forbes, The New York Times, Business 2.0, Working Woman, Newsweek, and New York Magazine.

She has appeared on The Today Show, Fox News, The Jim Lehrer NewsHour, and features on her have appeared in dozens of magazines and newspapers in the U.S. and abroad, including USAToday, Stern, L’Official, Poets and Writers, and Publishers Weekly.

Rose graduated from Syracuse University and spent the ’80s in advertising. She was the Creative Director of Rosenfeld Sirowitz and Lawson and she has a commercial in the Museum of Modern Art in NYC.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Latest from our Blog

September Takes a Mysterious Turn

bouchercon-2016

Writerspace has always been about love and mystery. But sometimes the latter can get short shrift. But not this September. September this year meant Bouchercon 2016: Blood on the Bayou, with the world mystery convention being held in the most fitting of places: New Orleans. (Think ComicCon for mystery lovers or RWA for crime buffs… Read More

Read More